Municue

City Council · 9:00 AM · Council Chambers, City Hall

Dallas City Council's June 10 session addressed 41 substantive items representing $300.7M in financial impact, anchored by a $205M water and sewer revenue bond authorization and $79.9M in infrastructure and FIFA World Cup grants. Alongside major water utility commitments, the council approved a software services expansion, elected new leadership officers, and deferred four items including competing design contracts for a city vehicle maintenance facility.
113 items7 mattersView official source →

Matters

All Zoning cases · Corridor scope

Phillip Michael Bangs Group Dwelling Permit at Prosperity Avenue (Z-26-000038)

4 hearings since May 2026·Last: Aug 25, 2026·Significant

Showing all 2 actions. Filter by: , .

Attorney

Obtain final site plan and conditions for group dwelling permit

Applies if: Council adopted the ordinance after the hearing closed

Why now: The City Plan Commission recommended approval for a five-year period while staff recommended approval without a stated term, and the hearing closed on 2026-08-25 after deferrals on June 10 and August 12 (Z-26-000038).

What to do: Pull the adopted ordinance and attached site plan to confirm whether the City Plan Commission's five-year limit survived Council action. The permit term and conditions determine when the applicant must seek renewal and what compliance obligations attach.

Act before: After the next material record update

Source: Item #Z7 ↓
Journalist

Ask why the group dwelling permit was deferred twice

Why now: Z-26-000038 was recommended for approval by staff, passed City Plan Commission 14-0 on the consent docket, yet Council deferred it on June 10 and August 12 before closing the hearing on August 25.

What to do: Request the deferral reasons and who asked for them on June 10 and August 12, then find out what changed before the August 25 hearing closed. The record shows no explanation for two delays on an item that advanced with staff support.

Act before: After the requested records are produced

Source: Item #Z7 ↓

2201 Main, LLC Videoboard Sign Permit at North Cesar Chavez Boulevard (Z-25-000126)

Z234-342(JG)·3 hearings since May 2026·Last: Aug 12, 2026·Significant

Showing all 3 actions. Filter by: , , .

Attorney
As of Aug 2026

Compare Cesar Chavez videoboard approval terms

Context: The application was deferred by City Council on June 10, 2026, then approved on August 12, while the commission had recommended a conditioned six-year approval.

Recommended: Pull the signed ordinance, final permit conditions, and June 10 deferral record, then compare them with the City Plan Commission recommendation. Confirm whether the Council-approved terms retained the recommended six-year period and conditions before advising on compliance obligations or any remaining legal question.

Source: Item #Z2 ↓
Developer
As of Aug 2026

Confirm Cesar Chavez videoboard sign conditions

Context: City Council approved the amendment on August 12, 2026 after City Plan Commission recommended approval subject to conditions and for a six-year period.

Recommended: Obtain the adopted ordinance and final amended Specific Use Permit condition sheet before ordering or designing the projecting videoboard. The record confirms approval but does not state the binding technical limits, so committing to equipment now could create avoidable redesign or noncompliance costs.

Source: Item #Z2 ↓
Journalist
As of Aug 2026

Investigate Cesar Chavez videoboard sign delay

Context: This matter appeared three times: before City Plan Commission on May 7, deferred by City Council on June 10, and approved August 12; the listed vote result was 14-0.

Recommended: Request the June 10 Council minutes, deferral rationale, and the final August ordinance, and compare the conditions across the three appearances. Ask what changed between the deferred hearing and the later approval, because the supplied record does not explain the two-month delay or identify the final conditions.

Source: Item #Z2 ↓

Kimley-Horn Cell Tower at Pastor Bailey Drive (Z-26-000029)

3 hearings since May 2026·Last: Jun 24, 2026·Significant

Showing all 2 actions. Filter by: , .

Attorney
As of Jun 2026

Confirm Rubin's recusal filing on this corridor rezoning

Context: Rubin declared a conflict of interest on Item 11, which carried 13-0 on June 24, 2026, after Council deferred the same case on June 10.

Recommended: Pull the City Secretary's conflict-of-interest affidavit for Council Member Rubin's recusal on this case — Texas Local Government Code Chapter 171 requires the affidavit be filed before the vote, and a missing or incomplete filing could expose the June 24 ordinance to a challenge.

Source: Item #Z6 ↓
Journalist
As of Jun 2026

Ask why council deferred then unanimously approved this rezoning

Context: Case Z-26-000029 was deferred by City Council on June 10, then carried 13-0 on June 24 with Rubin declaring an unexplained conflict of interest.

Recommended: File a records request for the staff memo behind the June 10 deferral and Rubin's conflict-of-interest disclosure — the public record never explains why a case that stalled for two weeks then passed 13-0, or what Rubin's specific financial interest was.

Source: Item #Z6 ↓

Estelar Mixed-Use Zoning at East Side Avenue (Z-26-000009)

3 hearings since Mar 2026·Last: Jun 10, 2026·Significant

Showing all 3 actions. Filter by: , , .

Attorney
As of Jun 2026

Check public notice records before challenge deadline, East Side mixed-use

Context: City Council adopted Z-26-000009 on June 10, 2026; Texas zoning challenges typically must be filed within 30 days, placing the deadline around July 10 — and the case's unexplained two-step through the commission (13-0 on March 26, then held under advisement and re-voted 13-0 on April 23) is an atypical pattern worth examining for a notice or quorum defect.

Recommended: Request certified public notice affidavits and mailed notice logs from the Dallas City Secretary for both the March 26 and April 23 City Plan Commission hearings on this case. If the March 26 hearing had a notice or procedural defect that forced the case back to the April docket, that same defect may support a challenge to the June 10 City Council adoption before the statutory window closes.

Source: Item #Z4 ↓
Developer
As of Jun 2026

Confirm final ordinance zoning classification for East Side Avenue mixed-use project

Context: City Council adopted Z-26-000009 on June 10, 2026 as part of an agenda that included 16 zoning cases across multiple classification types, making the specific enrolled district for this parcel ambiguous until the ordinance text is confirmed.

Recommended: Request the enrolled ordinance text from the Dallas City Secretary to verify exactly which zoning district classification was applied to the East Side Avenue site — the April 23 consent docket bundled this case with a mixed slate including MF-2(A) multifamily, TH-3(A) townhouse, and mixed-use upzonings, and the case record does not confirm which category this parcel received. Permitted uses, density ceilings, and setback standards differ materially between those classifications, and a building permit application filed under the wrong baseline will be rejected.

Source: Item #Z4 ↓
Journalist
As of Jun 2026

Pull March 26 minutes explaining hold on East Side mixed-use vote

Context: The case received identical 13-0 votes at both the March 26 and April 23 City Plan Commission hearings, but the April hearing was explicitly listed among five under-advisement returns — meaning something paused the case after the March unanimous vote, and no public explanation appears in the available record.

Recommended: Request the full March 26, 2026 City Plan Commission minutes for this case and look specifically for the stated reason it was placed under advisement despite a unanimous 13-0 vote, then compare that reason against the April 23 docket notation to see if they match. A unanimous commission vote followed by an under-advisement hold is the kind of procedural move that often documents a quiet negotiation or applicant-requested delay not visible in the vote count.

Source: Item #Z4 ↓

South Dallas/Fair Park District Zoning (Z-26-000101)

Z223-121·2 hearings since May 2026·Last: Jun 10, 2026·Significant

Showing all 3 actions. Filter by: , , .

Attorney
As of Jun 2026

Evaluate challenge window for South Dallas/Fair Park planned development amendment

Context: City Council adopted Z-26-000101 'as amended' on June 10, 2026, but the nature and scope of those amendments over a 3,335.8-acre planned development are not disclosed in the public-facing record.

Recommended: Request the council amendment language from the June 10 meeting and compare it to the May 21 City Plan Commission recommendation — if the council's changes are substantive, any property owner adversely affected has standing to challenge in Texas district court, and delay weakens that case. Identify whether any client holds land or a pending permit within the 3,335.8-acre PD 595 boundary that the amendments may have burdened.

Source: Item #Z1 ↓
Developer
As of Jun 2026

Compare council-amended PD 595 ordinance to commission version

Context: City Council adopted Z-26-000101 'as amended' on June 10, 2026, departing from the commission's unanimous May 21 recommendation — the delta between the two versions defines what can actually be built district-wide.

Recommended: Pull the ordinance adopted by City Council on June 10 and diff it against the version the City Plan Commission approved 14-0 on May 21 — council amendments can alter permitted uses, development standards, or phasing across the full 3,335.8-acre South Dallas/Fair Park planned development district. Any project underway or in design within PD 595 may be governed by different standards than what was publicly presented at the commission stage.

Source: Item #Z1 ↓
Journalist
As of Jun 2026

Request what City Council changed in South Dallas/Fair Park rezoning

Context: The gap between a unanimous 14-0 City Plan Commission vote on May 21 and a council 'as amended' adoption on June 10 for Z-26-000101 is an unresolved anomaly that the headline does not surface.

Recommended: File a public records request for the June 10 City Council staff memo, redline, or amendment sheet for this case, then compare it against the May 21 City Plan Commission version — the commission voted 14-0 to recommend approval, but the council passed it 'as amended,' and the public record does not explain what changed or who requested the change across a 3,335.8-acre planned development district.

Source: Item #Z1 ↓

Analysis

Financial Highlights

The council acted on items totaling $300.7M in financial impact across bonds, grants, spending, and revenue foregone.[#3][#8][#9][#13][#11][#12][#14][#2][#20][#23][#4][#16][#6][#21][#27][#22]

Contracts & Procurement

Two professional services contracts for the same Southeast Service Center vehicle maintenance facility reached different outcomes at the same meeting: a $1.05M contract with Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. was rejected after being deferred since April, while a $1.03M contract with Huitt-Zollars, Inc. for the same scope was deferred.[#23][#4][#19]

Zoning

Of 12 zoning cases on the June 10 agenda, 10 received routine approval.[#Z1][#Z2][#Z3][#Z4][#Z5][#Z6][#Z7][#Z8][#Z9][#Z10][#PH1]

Planning

A proposal to amend the City Plan Commission's Rules of Procedure — including renaming the Comprehensive Land Use Committee to the Plans Advisory Committee, updating ZOAC membership requirements, and revising how written communications on subdivision matters are distributed — was deferred.[#5]

Development & Land Use

Competing design contracts for a new vehicle maintenance facility at the Southeast Service Center produced split outcomes: the Kimley-Horn proposal ($1,046,500) was rejected while the Huitt-Zollars, Inc. proposal ($1,026,908) was deferred, leaving the project without an approved designer.[#23][#6][#19]

Infrastructure & Facilities

Dallas Water Utilities advanced three major water infrastructure initiatives: a $205M revenue refunding bond authorization, a $55M grant application for water supply infrastructure, and a PFAS remediation grant application at city treatment plants.[#8][#7][#27]

Transportation

Council approved five transportation items covering event parking authority, pedestrian safety corrections, bridge engineering, and airport ground transportation expansions.[#13][#10][#11][#12][#14]

Public Safety

Dallas was designated a NCTCOG subrecipient for up to $24,581,327.21 in FIFA World Cup Grant Program funds to cover reimbursable emergency management and crisis response activities during the 2026 tournament, with appropriations established in a new dedicated fund.[#2]

Housing

The South Dallas/Fair Park Planned Development District No. 595—spanning approximately 3,335.8 acres—was amended and approved.[#Z1][#Z2][#Z3][#Z4][#Z5][#Z6][#Z7][#Z8][#Z9][#Z10][#PH2]

Governance & Oversight

Council elected a new Mayor Pro Tem and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem for one-year terms beginning June 15, 2026, and approved board and commission appointments.[#5][#10][#18][#6][#26]

Community Impact

Council approved three parks-related contracts and grants at Fair Park, Samuell Farm, and Bachman Recreation Center totaling $642,500.[#3][#20][#PH1][#21]

Personnel & Labor

Council authorized three legal settlements totaling $1,550,000 from the Liability Reserve Fund.[#15][#17][#16][#24][#25]

Key Decisions

#5 Deferred·#19 Deferred$1.0M·#Z2 Hearing Open; Deferred·#Z6 Hearing Open; Deferred·#24 Held·#25 Held·#4 Corrected; Approved as an Individual Item$1.8M·#10 Corrected; Approved$500
Eight items reached non-routine outcomes at the June 10 session.[#5][#10][#Z2][#Z6][#4][#19][#24][#25]

Insights by Role

Contractor

HighHigh significance — major decision, large financial impact, or broad community effectTen contract and procurement items were acted upon, with the Southeast Service Center vehicle maintenance facility design competition leaving the project without an approved designer. The convention center job order contracting renewal was corrected and individually approved, and three transportation and parks contracts totaling approximately $3.85M were authorized.

Developer

HighHigh significance — major decision, large financial impact, or broad community effectThe approved PD 595 amendment reshapes development standards across approximately 3,335.8 acres in South Dallas/Fair Park, and multiple residential rezonings advanced in Oak Lawn, East Dallas, and South Dallas/Fair Park. A 10-year business personal property tax abatement was approved for a commercial property on Van Horn Drive.

Journalist

HighHigh significance — major decision, large financial impact, or broad community effectThe June 10 agenda produced two investigation-worthy patterns: competing design contracts for the same city facility reached opposite outcomes at the same meeting, and two closed-session items were held without public resolution on the same night the council approved $1.55M in legal settlements.

Lobbyist

MediumMedium significance — notable action worth trackingNew council leadership officers take office June 15, 2026, reshuffling committee influence for active advocacy targets. The deferred CPC Rules of Procedure amendment leaves a live window for stakeholder input on planning committee structure and ZOAC membership changes.

Resident

MediumMedium significance — notable action worth trackingResidents in South Dallas/Fair Park, Oak Lawn, and East Dallas should note approved zoning changes affecting their neighborhoods. Two zoning cases remain open with deferred hearings. Parks and recreation improvements at Bachman Recreation Center and Samuell Farm are advancing.

Charts & Data

41 items(72 procedural hidden)

The official vote outcome for each item
(e.g., Approved, Denied, Held)
The procedural action taken on the item
(e.g., Hearing Closed, Corrected, Referred)

AI-generated summaries. Click to expand for original text.

#2Authorization of an Interlocal Agreement with the North Central Texas Council of Governments designating Dallas as a subrecipient for the 2026 FIFA World Cup Grant Program, with appropriations and receipt of up to $24,581,327.21 in reimbursable grant funds.

Approved

#3Authorizes a three-year interlocal cooperative purchasing agreement with ACT Event Services, Inc. for janitorial services at Fair Park administration areas and on an as-needed basis during events, not to exceed $300,000.

Approved$300K

Department Convention and Event Services

#4Authorizes a one-year renewal of job order construction contracting services with six vendors at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, Eddie Bernice Johnson Union Station, Reunion Parking Garage, and other city facilities, increasing the contract ceiling by $1.75 million to a new total of $8.75 million.

#5Resolution amending the City Plan Commission's Rules of Procedure to update subdivision communication processes, require diverse representation on standing committees, rename the Comprehensive Land Use Committee to the Plans Advisory Committee, and revise membership requirements for both the Plans Advisory Committee and Zoning Ordinance Advisory Committee.

Deferred

#6Authorizes a 10-year business personal property tax abatement agreement with Amarumayu, LLC for a project at 9078 Van Horn Drive, abating 50% of the increased taxable value of business personal property in accordance with the City's Economic Development Incentive Policy, with an estimated revenue foregone of approximately $1.38 million over the abatement period.

Approved$1.4M

#7Authorization for Dallas Water Utilities to apply to the Texas Water Development Board for a grant to fund planning, design, and potentially construction of improvements identified in a PFAS assessment at its water treatment plants, with no cost to the City.

Approved

#8Authorization for the city to apply to the Texas Water Development Board for up to $55,000,000 through the Water Supply and Infrastructure Grant Program to fund water supply and infrastructure projects.

Approved

#9Authorization of Supplemental Agreement No. 3 to increase a cooperative purchasing agreement with SHI Government Solutions, Inc. by up to $1,269,424.43 for additional Microsoft Government Enterprise software licenses, raising the total agreement value from $21,427,616.21 to $22,697,040.64.

Approved$1.3M

#10Proposed ordinance amending Chapter 28 of the Dallas City Code to modify the Director of Transportation and Public Works' authority to set rates for event paid parking, with penalties up to $500, at no cost to the City.

Approved

#11Amends a 2022 resolution to correct authorized funding amounts for a TxDOT Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside grant supporting Safe Routes to School pedestrian, sidewalk, and traffic calming improvements, reducing the approved amount from $325,661 to $296,056.

Approved

#12Amends a 2024 resolution authorizing a construction contract with Palmer Hall Construction for the Zaragoza Elementary Safe Routes to School pedestrian and paving improvements, correcting the fund disbursement split between the SRTS Improvements Fund (reduced from $325,661 to $296,056) and the General Fund (increased from $41,787 to $71,392), maintaining the overall NTE at $367,448.

Approved$71K

#13Authorizes Supplemental Agreement No. 1 with Bridgefarmer & Associates, Inc. adding engineering design, traffic data collection, and project management services for the Prairie Creek Road/Bridge project over Union Pacific Railroad tracks, increasing the contract from $2,342,155.00 to $3,092,155.00.

Approved$750K

#14Authorizes supplemental agreements increasing service contracts with two vendors—Parking Concepts, Inc. (dba Transportation Concepts) and Parking Systems of America, Inc.—for passenger and employee ground transportation management at Dallas Love Field Airport, for a combined contract increase of $2,750,746.38 funded by the Aviation Fund.

Approved$2.8M

#15Authorizes settlement of an EEOC charge filed by Mearion Harris (Charge No. 450-2024-450-05300) for up to $65,000, financed by the Liability Reserve Fund.

Approved$65K

#16Authorizes settlement of a lawsuit brought against the City of Dallas by the City of Corsicana, Navarro County, and Navarro College (Cause No. DC13-22750-CV), for an amount not to exceed $1.4 million funded from the Liability Reserve Fund.

Approved$1.4M

#17Authorization to settle a lawsuit filed by Jose Carlos Hernandez against the City for not more than $85,000, to be funded from the Liability Reserve Fund.

Approved$85K

#18Consideration of appointments to city boards and commissions, including evaluation of board member duties. A list of nominees is available in the City Secretary's Office.

Individual, Full Council And Officer Appointments Made To Boards And Commissions

#19Authorization of a professional services contract with Huitt-Zollars, Inc. for architectural, engineering, and construction administration services for a new vehicle maintenance facility at the Southeast Service Center at 2761 Municipal Street, funded by the 2006 General Obligation Bond Fund.

Deferred$1.0M

#20Authorizes application for and acceptance of a $225,500.00 U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service grant administered through Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for planning and design of an archery range at Samuell (East) Farm, including establishment of appropriations and a City cost share from the Samuell Park Exp. Trust Fund. Item was previously deferred on May 13, 2026.

Approved$226K

#21Authorizes Supplemental Agreement No. 1 to increase the professional services contract with MEP Consulting Engineers, Inc. by $120,000 for design and construction administration services for replacing the indoor pool mechanical system at Bachman Recreation Center.

Approved$120K

#22Authorizes Supplemental Agreement No. 4 to increase a two-year master Service Price Agreement with Carahsoft Technology Corporation for various software products and related services by $3,786,672.81, raising the total not-to-exceed from $15,146,691.20 to $18,933,364.01.

Approved As Amended$3.8M

#23Authorization of a professional services contract with Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. for architectural, engineering, and construction administration services for a new vehicle maintenance facility at the Southeast Service Center, funded by the 2006 General Obligation Bond Fund; previously deferred on April 22, 2026.

Rejected$1.0M

Attorney Briefings (Sec. 551.071 T.O.M.A.)

#24Closed session item regarding pending federal litigation: City of Dallas v. United States, Case No. 23-1219-C, before the U.S. Court of Federal Claims.

Held

#25Closed session item acknowledging letters received from the Save Dallas City Hall Coalition on four occasions between May 12 and June 4, 2026, submitted through the City Attorney's Office.

Held

#26Election of the City Council's Mayor Pro Tem and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem for one-year terms beginning June 15, 2026, with no cost to the city.

Officers Appointed

#27Authorizes preparation of plans and payment of potential future costs for issuing Waterworks and Sewer System Revenue Refunding Bonds, Series 2026A, in an amount not to exceed $205,000,000, in alignment with the Water and Wastewater Capital Improvement Program.

Approved

#Z1Public hearing and proposed ordinance to amend Planned Development District No. 595 (South Dallas/Fair Park Special Purpose District), covering approximately 3,335.8 acres bounded by multiple rail lines and expressways, with both staff and the City Plan Commission recommending approval.

#Z2Public hearing and proposed ordinance to amend Specific Use Permit No. 2302 for an attached projecting non-premise videoboard sign on the east line of North Cesar Chavez Boulevard between Elm Street and Main Street, with staff recommending approval and CPC recommending approval for a six-year period, both subject to conditions.

#Z3Public hearing and ordinance to grant a new Planned Development Subdistrict for MF-2 multifamily uses within PD No. 193 (Oak Lawn Special Purpose District) on Newton Avenue; staff and CPC both recommend approval subject to a development plan and conditions.

#Z4Public hearing and ordinance to rezone property on East Side Avenue (northeast of Carroll Avenue) from CS Commercial Service District to MU-1 Mixed-Use District; staff and CPC both recommend approval.

#Z5Public hearing on an application to amend Specific Use Permit No. 2528 for an office showroom/warehouse within Planned Development District No. 366 (Buckner Boulevard Special Purpose District) on Scyene Road. Staff recommends approval for five years with automatic renewal eligibility; CPC recommends approval for five years with conditions.

Approved

#Z6Public hearing on an application for a new Specific Use Permit for a monopole cellular communications tower on a CR Community Retail District parcel at the northeast corner of Pastor Bailey Drive and West Camp Wisdom Road. Staff and CPC both recommend approval for a ten-year period with site plan and conditions.

#Z7Public hearing on a new Specific Use Permit application for a handicapped group dwelling unit on R-5(A) Single Family District property on Prosperity Avenue west of Stanley Smith Drive. Both staff and CPC recommend approval for a five-year period, subject to site plan and conditions.

#Z8Public hearing on an application to amend the land use map within Planned Development District No. 134 to permit duplex use on property currently restricted to single-family use on Mt. Auburn Avenue between Gurley Avenue and East Grand Avenue. Staff and CPC both recommend approval subject to an amended Exhibit 134A.

Approved

#Z9Public hearing on an application to establish a new subdistrict within Planned Development District No. 830 (Davis Street Special Purpose District) at the northwest corner of West Davis Street and North Vernon Avenue. Staff and CPC both recommend approval subject to conditions.

Approved

#Z10Public hearing on an application to rezone property within Planned Development District No. 595 (South Dallas/Fair Park Special Purpose District) from R-5(A) Single Family Subdistrict to TH-3(A) Townhouse Subdistrict on Herrling Street between South 2nd Avenue and Cross Street. Staff and CPC both recommend approval.

Approved

#PH1Public hearing on a variance application to waive alcohol spacing requirements from Annie W Blanton Elementary School, to allow La Michoacana Supermarket to obtain a wine and beer retailer's off-premise (BQ) permit in a D-1 liquor control overlay district on Bruton Road.

Approved

Budget and Management Services

#PH2Public hearing to receive community comments on the proposed FY 2026-27 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Consolidated Plan budget for federal grant funds.

Hearing Closed

Municue is in beta

We're building the most comprehensive municipal intelligence platform. Your feedback shapes what we build next.

Explore more reports